View post (My wife thinks I have officially lost it)

View thread

manXcat
manXcat
02/26/2020 1:09 am
Originally Posted by: JeffS65Compared to when I was first starting, there was a huge gap between the 'quality' brands and everyone else. You had few choices. Go cheap and not as playable or spend the bucks.

Guitars here were very expensive when I bought my first ('73) and second (late '74 or early '75). Yamaha and Ibanez both were [u]very[/u] new players in the guitar industry, both then Made in Japan because the JPY like the DM at the time, was a rubbish currency rendering Japanese and German production favourably competitive. Even established acoustic brand Takamine was expensive compared with Yamaha product. And Ibanez branding evoked a "Who?" response. A complete unknown. I bought my Yamaha acoustic through recommendation and on affordability. I was a student paying my own way with a part time job, and my Ibanez later because it was a fraction of the price of a Gibson SG, but not a fraction of the quality.

Unfortunately the word "cheap" today is more frequently misconstrued than not in a dumbed down society. Cheap isn't a synonym for "junk" without qualifiying context, even where it is miscomprehended as such in the minds of those knowing no better.

[br]The future of Gibson and Fender over the next two decades will be interesting, although I doubt I'll still be here to witness the result. Their current sales model depends on their marketing sustaining self-propogation of the brand association mythology to maintain their price points with sufficient numbers buying it, figuratively and literally. They're fortunate in having their core brand influenced buying demographic in the US where of course, coincidentially their pricing structures are at their affordable optimum.