reading music and chords

ashharrington15
ashharrington15
05/17/2019 3:15 pm

I am just starting out, and I don't know the first things. My question is will they teach any learning to read music? Any music theory for beginning guitar, because I don't know how to read chords.

# 1
ashharrington15
ashharrington15
05/17/2019 5:32 pm

Thank you so much for the reply. As I've said I literally know nothing. This is something I've always wanted to learn, and have always put it off out of fear of failure. Now at almost 40 I've decided to do this for me. I have never had a music lesson outside of elementary school, but I have always loved music. So I am also going to be taking physical lessons with a teacher that also teaches music theory for guitar, as well as doing this. I have been using the fender lessons app for a few days, but I just got my guitar last monday. I am just really afraid I will fail at this. It looks so hard, but I am willing to stick with it. Any pointers would be great.

# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
05/17/2019 6:43 pm
Originally Posted by: ashharrington15

Thank you so much for the reply. As I've said I literally know nothing. This is something I've always wanted to learn, and have always put it off out of fear of failure. Now at almost 40 I've decided to do this for me. I have never had a music lesson outside of elementary school, but I have always loved music. So I am also going to be taking physical lessons with a teacher that also teaches music theory for guitar, as well as doing this. I have been using the fender lessons app for a few days, but I just got my guitar last monday. I am just really afraid I will fail at this. It looks so hard, but I am willing to stick with it. Any pointers would be great.

The beauty is; you don't have to know anything. You gain that knowledge as you learn.