Looking at your fingers

simongreen25
simongreen25
01/24/2021 12:57 pm

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to this, but so far enjoying learning something new from scratch!

I have found it much easier and reassuring to look at my fingers while practicing to ensure I have them in the right place.

I understand this is a no-no, but I wondered whether I should make a serious effort right now to cut it out, or wait until I'm more confident with the postions of the strings? Any advice would be most welcome!

# 1
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
01/24/2021 4:19 pm

It will be good when you no longer have to look at your fingers all the time. It is normal that you start off looking at your hands. But as you evolve your skills you should work on not keeping your eyes glued on your fingers all the time.

All guitarist do look at the neck,but they are not staring at their fingers, they are occasionally looking to find where their next position on the neck is. It is kind of like a runner who at first has to look at each placement of their feet. But it is hard to anticipate varriations on the trail surface when you are always stareing at you feet. It is analogous to how much you should look at your hands.

Once you get your chords down to the point you can grab them on a moment's notice and sucessfully change chords, in time, along with the songs rythum. You should start working on not looking at your hands all the time. If you have to change you hand position up or down the neck, then looking for the spot on the fretboard where you place your fretting hand is a good habit. Like the runner, you have to watch where you are going as you adapt to the changes in the trails path (or the chords and riffs that make up the song's progression).