C'mon guys...

ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
06/14/2000 6:05 am
This is pretty sad. No one's had a theory question in over a month. I'm ready to answer something...
"When you're a young, long-haired guitarist, no one takes you seriously." - John Petrucci

www.erikhagen.net
Web - Photo - Audio
# 1
Buzz
Buzz
06/14/2000 3:26 pm
Okay then.....

I've been playing for oh..... around 15 years. Totally self taught. I know I've picked up on some theory over the years and just don't know it. I'd like to learn more. Or at least learn in a more concise manner. Where should I start?
That which you can not cure,
you must endure!
———————————
Buzz
# 2
ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
06/15/2000 6:20 pm
A good place to start would be to learn a little modal theory. I believe this is a fundamental thing for intermediate guitarists because it turns the fretboard into a map and once you get it down you can see how most everything fits together. Hopefully I will put up a section on this, but for now, just search under 'guitar modes' or something like that.
"When you're a young, long-haired guitarist, no one takes you seriously." - John Petrucci

www.erikhagen.net
Web - Photo - Audio
# 3
Jon Broderick
Administrator
Jon Broderick
Administrator
06/17/2000 11:01 pm
I find theory much easier to understand on the piano. The keys are color-coded so you can clearly see the relationships. When you change modes, you can see that the relationships between each note of the scale change. When you change key signatures, you can see how you have to use sharps and flats to get the relationship to stay the same as it is in C.

On the guitar, it's all just frets...

Jon Broderick
Guitar Tricks Instructor

www.GuitarTricks.com - Home of Online Guitar Lessons
# 4
ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ekstasis16
Guitar Tricks Instructor
06/18/2000 7:18 am