Parlour Guitars

oldcatnewtricks
Full Access
oldcatnewtricks
Full Access
02/12/2019 5:54 pm

Hi folks,

I'm just curious as to whether any of you play a parlour-size guitar and how you like it? The reason I ask is that I'm a lazy old fellow and often like to lounge on the couch and pluck at the guitar here and there. Also, I'm a true beginner. I find that trying to settle in with a dreadnaught is a bit cumbersome. I could go with the electric I suppose but I'm just wondering if a parlour guitar may be the trick? I have also had a look at the Baby Taylor (BT-1) as well, but wonder if a parlour guitar might have a bit more character (and nicer sound?) and still fit the bill.

I'm currently looking at an Art and Lutherie Roadhouse which seems to be a nice value for under $500 CDN.

I would appreciate any views on this.

Thanks,

Barry

# 1
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
02/13/2019 1:27 am

I'd say go for it. Follow your instinct and at least look at or try if you can, Concert and Parlor sized guitars. They won't have the projection or bass of a Dreadnought, but do you really want or need that in the living room? They also don't come with the burdensome body size encumbrance of a Dreadnought. That said, I should at this stage confess to the personal bias disclaimer, I really detest Dreadnoughts.

Personally I use Concert sized acoustics and e-acoustics, I have three, and find them perfect for my purposes. Gobs of natural acoustic projection for any larger room in the average home e.g. 4.5M x4.5M (15ft x 15ft) or small cafe environment, and amplification of any tonal range desired be it passive or pre-amped otherwise.