New to lead guitar and pedals

jimlufc
jimlufc
02/09/2020 5:51 pm

Hi guys. Newbie here. For the last 10 years I've been a rhythm guitarist and singer for various cover bands. I've got a new band together and we are starting rehearsing to gig later this year. I'm playing most of the lead stuff. Mainly playing indie stuff (Oasis/Blur etc), so nothing too difficult lead wise. I've been watching videos about pedals on YouTube and have come out realising I probably know even less now than I did when I first started watching them. I currently have an overdrive pedal but I'm wanting to know what I can use to up my sound for the solos. Does a boost pedal do the trick or would I need a second overdrive pedal? Currently using a Boss ds-1. Any help would be great.

# 1
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
ChristopherSchlegel
Guitar Tricks Instructor
02/09/2020 10:09 pm
Originally Posted by: jimlufcI'm playing most of the lead stuff.

I currently have an overdrive pedal but I'm wanting to know what I can use to up my sound for the solos. Does a boost pedal do the trick or would I need a second overdrive pedal? Currently using a Boss ds-1.

What kind of amp & guitar do you have? Also, the Boss DS-1 is a distortion pedal, which is a type of overdrive, but slightly different than pure overdrive or boost. Typically distortion pedals have a little harsher tone (or clipping of the signal) than an overdrive pedal.

The easiest way to do this is to use the equipment you have. Set your pedal so the distortion (gain) is at the amount you desire for your lead tone. Then set the level (volume) to unity gain. This means that your guitar is at the same volume with the pedal off & on. Then start to dial the level up a little bit until you get the extra amount of volume that you need. You might want to experiment with it on your own, but you should absolutely do this in the context of playing with the full band so you know you've got the settings right.