Tele or Strato to complement a Single Cut guitar

PelayoSan
PelayoSan
07/20/2020 7:18 am

Hi there,

I am a beginner player who owns a Single Cut guitar with humbuckers and now I am thinking about getting a budget second guitar. What would be a better choice to cover as many genres and sounds as possible together with the SC? A Tele or a Strat?

Thanks!

# 1
Sasha-B
Full Access
Sasha-B
Full Access
08/14/2020 2:16 am

tough one. Both are great and can cover a wide range of music.

There are some excellent YouTube videos that compare the two.

if possible, see if you can get to a local guitar shop that has both in stock. If you have to make an appointment, do so.

[br]

Originally Posted by: PelayoSan

Hi there,

I am a beginner player who owns a Single Cut guitar with humbuckers and now I am thinking about getting a budget second guitar. What would be a better choice to cover as many genres and sounds as possible together with the SC? A Tele or a Strat?

Thanks!

2021 Iris CH

2021 G&L ASAT Classic Tribute

# 2
PelayoSan
PelayoSan
08/24/2020 10:49 pm

It makes sense, I will try them and decide. Thanks!

Originally Posted by: Sasha-B

tough one. Both are great and can cover a wide range of music.

There are some excellent YouTube videos that compare the two.

if possible, see if you can get to a local guitar shop that has both in stock. If you have to make an appointment, do so.

Hi there,

Thanks!

# 3
manXcat
Full Access
manXcat
Full Access
08/25/2020 2:06 am

[p]

Depends where your primary musical interest lies IMV. Let that be your guide/decider.

I have all those instrument type/muscial style bases covered now, so this is my personal view in hindsight after playing for 2½ years with Guitar Tricks.

1. Most versatile in my book is a coil splittable HSS Strat. If I had to have just a first or single electric guitar, that'd be it. It was for me, and I'd buy exactly the same again without any misplaced 'owner pride'.