Hello nice to see a forum here.

mattbod
mattbod
07/06/2019 7:15 pm

Just so say hello. I am a newbie ans taking my first steps with guitar at the age of 40. I am Matt from UK and am a PhD law student. Learning to play guitar to give me a new challenge outside study. I am musical but am a piano and organ player primarily (with a little blues harmomica too). I always baulked at learning guitar as left handed but am learning right handed and does not seem to be a big issue. I am enjoying course and hope to share progress with you guys. The only thing I am having trouble with is keeping index finger down on the string on “spider fingers” exercise. It wants to keep flying off. I guess it is all about developing strength and muscle memory. Guitar I got was Epiphone DR 100 btw. It’s a big guitar but worth it for the beefy sound. I’d know that if i’d got a starter guitar with a poor flat tone i’d not last the course. Anyway that’s me. I hope i can draw on some mutual support here.

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
07/06/2019 9:21 pm

Hello Matt,

Good luck on your progress!

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
billsud
billsud
07/06/2019 10:01 pm

Good luck Matt from another newb. 75 and starting over.

# 3
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
07/06/2019 10:34 pm

Hey, good luck Bill! That's awesome.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 4
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
LisaMcC
Guitar Tricks Instructor
07/08/2019 1:53 pm

Welcome, mbodycombe!

Great decision to buy yourself a nice guitar. I get so frustrated on behalf of folks who think they're better off learning on a cheap guitar - because those poor folks end up having to fight the instrument to get it to sound like anything decent. And then get discouraged....

YOU did the right thing!

Have a great time. -Lisa

Lisa McCormick, GT Instructor
Acoustic, Folk, Pop, Blues

Full Catalog of Lisa's Guitar Tricks Tutorials
Find Lisa on Facebook!
# 5
mattbod
mattbod