Bad habits and bad attitude Re beginner

studiovape0
studiovape0
09/15/2019 11:06 pm

Hello everyone. I’ve been playing on and off for about 25 years. I’ve had a few lessons and self taught a lot in that time, but always fell short of really getting to far.

Fretting hand /thumb pain sore neck/shoulder and other setbacks when I practiced hard always made me feel like I just wasn’t cut out for it.

Having another go now, “forcing” a more relaxed technique and posture this time.

also trying to play for shorter spells and do some very day.

Struggleing to find a good path through the lessons that doesn’t bore me but catches any basics I might have missed etc.

anyway looking forward to the newish journey.

# 1
Morpeli
Morpeli
09/16/2019 12:30 am

Good luck! Maybe try breathing from the stomach yoga style...that might help!

Or try this book. A lot of people seem to like it:

https://www.guitarprinciples.com/shop/the-principles-of-correct-practice-for-guitarhard-copy-p-1.html

I just joined the website a week or so ago. I 'm really liking the song lessons!

Regards

Morgan

# 2
studiovape0
studiovape0
09/17/2019 2:37 am
Originally Posted by: Morpeli

Good luck! Maybe try breathing from the stomach yoga style...that might help!

Or try this book. A lot of people seem to like it:

https://www.guitarprinciples.com/shop/the-principles-of-correct-practice-for-guitarhard-copy-p-1.html

I just joined the website a week or so ago. I 'm really liking the song lessons!

Regards

Morgan

thanks for your advice and support, checked out the Principles and bought the book and level one course, looks promising:)

# 3
JeffS65
JeffS65
09/17/2019 1:45 pm
Originally Posted by: studiovape0

Hello everyone. I’ve been playing on and off for about 25 years. I’ve had a few lessons and self taught a lot in that time, but always fell short of really getting to far.