Curved & weak pinky when using it for 4th fret

relaxmaster
relaxmaster
06/17/2018 1:22 am

Hi all,

I am an acoustic guitar beginner over 40 years old and very happy so far to be following Guitartricks on the course. I find the course really systematic and so far I am progressing well. I am still in the beginner basic course and using only the index, middle and ring finger on left hand playing 'Five Miles out' with instructor Lisa.

I came across several 'spider' exercises in YouTube that also includes the pinky finger. However, mine seemed to be quite different than the guitarist in Youtube as when I tried to use it for the 4th fret in the exercise on the E strong, or rather on all strings, it seems to be curving inwards. This made it hard for me to apply strength and reach out. Additionally, my left wrist will be quite tired after about 10 minutes. It is not possible doing this exercise if I am seated upright, guitar on right thigh and vertical, which is the correct posture recommended by Guitartricks. However after doing so, I find my wrist bending too much and I am afraid of hurting it in the long run. Much better if my raise the guitar neck up at an angle but isnt this the wrong posture?

I know the way to go is always to practice and practice to increase muscle strength and dexterity. Just needed to make sure I am not heading towards a more serious muscular issue later on. Does anyone have this issue, or is this normal? Have attacked a picture of top view.

Any kind advice will be much appreciated. Thanks a lot.

# 1
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
Guitar Tricks Admin
Full Access
06/25/2018 6:23 pm

Hi relaxmaster,

First off, if you feel discomfort in your wrist or hand, definitely stop. It's okay to bring the guitar neck further up so that your hand is more comfortable. There aren't many rules about how to hold a guitar. The only real rule is to hold it so it doesn't bring you discomfort.