Chord Switching Practice / Song Ideas?

troy.gamble
troy.gamble
03/08/2019 3:02 am

G'day guys,

I'm just starting to learn guitar, two weeks in so very, very green.

I'm finding myself dying of boredom switching between basic chords over and over, trying to develop the muscle memory.

I'm scouring the internet looking for basic beginner songs can't seem to find what i'm after. [br][br]

Beginner guitar songs suck, they rely heavily on singing.. i'm trying to learn guitar, which is bad enough for my wife, she doesn't need me trying to sing, and these songs suck (at least what i've found so far) without the singing to make sense of it.

[br]2. There is no resource that i've found that allows me to say, enter chords i want to learn. C E D for example.[br][br]

And it would then filter a list of basic songs that include or are limited to those songs or more importantly, maybe just riffs or peices of music that sound good, can be used for practice drills with tabs or whatever, that aren't boring as hell.

3. Also being green as hell, my fingers are stinging. Love it, it's part of the process. BUT i would love to optimise my time.

[br]I've found finger picking the start of 'nothing else matters' by metallica to be really fun, becasuse i'm producing something that sounds good, has good progression, and i can give my fretting fingers a break while still practicing. This is the same kind of thing i'm looking for with learning chords.

[br]I can't find any other songs that are like this, and obviously it's not long before that specific song gets much more involved.. is there a resource for just basic, instrumental, easy tunes or whatever that could be good training material like this??[br][br]Keeping me motivated is so crucial, and that means keeping me from being bored. If i'm hearding good sounds and progression and things i can repeat and aren't embarrased by, I stay really motivated![br][br]If you've got an suggestions for music, i'd absolutely love to hear them!

# 1