Help required Rock beginner lesson 1

ian.thompson26
Full Access
ian.thompson26
Full Access
06/23/2019 9:11 pm

Hi

I'm a newbie & this is my first post on the forum. I am a complete beginner to guitar & have just spent the last couple of months working through guitar fundamentals 1.

Having become reasonably proficient learning power chords, tips for easy chord changes, etc etc, I was looking forward to having a look at beginner lessons for rock, my preferred genre. In the very 1st lesson here, I'm being asked to form basic chords, such as A, D, & G in completely different ways to what I have practised religously for weeks to try and perfect; different finger positions and string muting. Seems that I am having to start from scratch again just to learn these basic chords in this new rock style. Can anyone advise if I can go through the beginner rock lessons using the "proper" chord positions I have previously learned or should I stick with trying to learn the new "string muting" method of playing chords. Feeling a bit frustrated right now!

Thanks for any help

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
06/23/2019 10:58 pm

I can offer some help, I started in Jan so by no means an expert.

Ive learned there are 3 ways to make a basic A. I am talking about the A that is up on the neck 2cnd fret. I use what is comfortable to me.

On the G, again high up on the neck, I will often drop the pinky because it’s just easier and helps me keep up with the tempo of the song.

So I guess what it comes down to is finding a way that works best for you.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
bbriant
bbriant
06/24/2019 6:30 am

you learn and learn and when you get better you unlearn and do it your way?

# 3
neil.sklar
neil.sklar
06/27/2019 11:48 pm