Just can't switch between chords

ray.anish94
ray.anish94
07/14/2020 6:15 pm

Hi everyone. I am new to the guitar. It has been a few months since I purchased my Guitar Tricks membership and my progress has been incredibly slow. I am just not able to train my fingers to play. It has been close to one and half months since I started Lisa's lesson on simple A minor and E chords. Despite practicing for days I still can't move my fingers fast enough to switch between A minor and E chords. Plus I find A minor hard to play as it involves two fingers. Can someone help me, please?

# 1
chris512
Full Access
chris512
Full Access
07/14/2020 6:53 pm

Play far slower than you want to ultimately play. You are building both strength and precision in two hands and this takes slow, intentional practice. Here's a proven method:

Find the speed where you can currently make the chord changes comfortably. Grab a metronome or use the one in the toolbox on this site to determine what that speed is. Then speed the metronome up by two beats above your comfortable speed and play at that speed until you're starting to feel it. Then turn the metronome down by one beat until you're very comfortable. Then go up two beats and start again. Up 2, down 1 until comfortable. Then up 2 again.

Guitar is hard in the beginning but if you practice slowly and every day you will become comfortable and proficient. The key is to not give up. Also, don't just do this as your only item during practice. You will only get frustrated. Spend ten minutes on this every day then go learn some songs or other techniques for the rest of your practice.

Even the guitar wizards who teach here went through what you are dealing with. We all have (and still do really, every one of us has a current speed limit we are working on). Don't quit, you can do this!

# 2
ray.anish94
ray.anish94
07/15/2020 6:21 am