Trouble with simple C

comrider1
comrider1
01/11/2021 3:41 pm

Hey, I just started playing the first of the year so I am a brand newbie. 1 I am having touching the G and E strings when trying only to press on the B string. I was wondering if there are some excercises I can do to help me ge over that or if it will just come in time?

2 My fingers also hurt (of course) so occaisionally I will take a day off to let them heal a little. I believe I can feel the calouses beginning to form but not sure yet. Any thoughts?

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
01/11/2021 4:21 pm

Hi and welcome,

have a look at this short vid, hopefully you will get something out of it that will help.

Good luck with your studies

Trouble with C

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
JeffS65
JeffS65
01/11/2021 8:28 pm
Originally Posted by: comrider1

Hey, I just started playing the first of the year so I am a brand newbie. 1 I am having touching the G and E strings when trying only to press on the B string. I was wondering if there are some excercises I can do to help me ge over that or if it will just come in time?

2 My fingers also hurt (of course) so occaisionally I will take a day off to let them heal a little. I believe I can feel the calouses beginning to form but not sure yet. Any thoughts?

Will has a good video on that.

I'll add that in the decades of playing guitar, I still hate playing the open C. To me, it's a very awkward chord. I mention this so that you don't beat yourself up too much. Even people who can play most things they would like (and I can do that), still don't like that chord.