how many hours a day do I need to practice?

Jay Pham
Jay Pham
01/19/2021 11:44 am

Hello, I'm new to guitar and just subscribed for full access for one year. Tried a few first lessons from the fundamentals section, totally love it. I have a few questions here:

- How long do I need to practice per day, like 1 lesson or 2 per day, or for a specific amount of time, like 30 minutes a day?

- I know it sounds kinda rushed and silly but after the course, will I be able the write a song all by myself? Let just say a new song being released, will I have the ability to find the right chords and notes, and know how to play it by myself?

Thank you for reading my questions and sorry in advance if my words are unclear.

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
01/19/2021 2:08 pm

Hi

I love the ambition. I don't have much time but in short:

I practice an hour each morning. I forget exactly what Lisa teaches, but her courses are well worth the effort.

Songs are chords that sound good together, and luckily we have convenient tools such as "Chords in the key of"... If not here on the web.

Writing a song isn't hard, writing a hit is hard. At some point you will want to learn some theory, but I would finish Fundamentals first.

In terms of playing a song you hear, unless you have someone who has broken down the chords and strum patterns, that's tough to do by yourself. But it can be learned, the instructors here do it everyday.

In the meantime there are tools available. You might find your song here, or Ultimate Guitar or even on YouTube. Marty Schwartz (YouTube) is breaking down the latest AC DC album as we speak.

Very best of luck with your studies.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
snojones
Full Access
snojones
Full Access
01/20/2021 3:56 pm