Full Access Members Only

The Progressive Bridge


Get Full Access Today To Learn

Don't Fear the Reaper

Plus 11,000 More Guitar Lessons.

Product Cost Lessons Instructors Instructor Help New Lessons Return Policy
Guitar Tricks $19.95 11,000+ 45 Instructors Yes Yes, Weekly 60 Days
Guitar Dvd's $30 - $60 20 - 30 1 Instructor No Interaction No No
Guitar Books $20 - $40 30 - 40 1 Instructor No Interaction No No
Other Sites $20 - $40 100 - 500 1-5 Instructor Sometimes Sometimes 3-7 Days
In-person $40 - $80 1 Hour 1 Instructor Yes Yes No
The bridge begins with hypnotic arpeggios over a 12 measure phrase.It is broken down into eighth notes grouped in threes. The pattern is as follows: F minor arpeggio, root third fifth 5 times, followed by G7 arpeggio, seventh, root third played six times. That is 11 groups of three notes or 33 all together. Do that again which gives us another 33 eighth notes.

Finally play the F minor arpeggio fives time and G7 arpeggio 5 times which gives us 30 eighth notes. Cool? So, ALL together, that's 33+33+30=96 eighth notes, that's a long loop but it does come out be 12 measures of 4/4 time. Very progressive!

You get to play this long phrase two and a half times before it fades and the main hook in A- returns.

A second and distorted rhythm rhythm guitar enters during the solo and doubles the bass playing F minor 9 and G flat 9 arpeggios. All of this creates quite a backdrop for the guitar solo which we'll learn in the next lesson!

Open In New Window
lesson notation