Contemplating lessons, but...

KirkD
KirkD
04/28/2007 2:53 pm
I've been self-teaching guitar for a little over a month now. I have a Peavy Mantis that I got for my 17th birthday (I'm 37 now) that I never learned to play properly and has been sitting in its case for over 15 years. I know, I know.... Anyway, I've become re-motivated to learn and have been hitting it pretty hard for the past month or so.

My original intent was to get guitar instruction software - I choose Jamorama which isn't bad, I think - and do this for a few months to see if I stick with it. At this point I'm certain I'll stick with it, so I'm contemplating lessons. The problem is, lessons will cost me about $100 per month and I just can't afford it. I suppose I could afford it, but it would be a stretch. So, I thought I would continue with Jamorama, go through the absolute beginner's guide here, and some of the beginner songs over at GuitarNoise.com.

Now the question - am I going to be doing myself a disservice by self-instruction? Is this a reasonable plan? Are black guitars really louder?

-Kirk
# 1
jeffhx
Disco Bandit
jeffhx
Disco Bandit
04/28/2007 3:31 pm
mate...ive been self instructed my self for the past year or so...and im pretty contempt with my advancement now...look at eric clapton..as far as i know..he too was self instructed...look at him today..not to worry..as long as you have the heart to it, go for it...and we're hear gladly to help you at anytime :)
[FONT=Impact]grooviest tunes ever [/FONT]
# 2

04/29/2007 4:46 pm
Since you are already a member here, I'd suggest looking at our tutorial section. It will give you lots of things to work on.

Also, you could pick on of our instructor that fits the style you want to play and look at his/her section. There are sorting options so you could only look at easy lessons. Once you've gone thru the easy one, just change the sorting and take on some intermediate.