Peter Frampton

hunter60
Humble student
hunter60
Humble student
01/12/2011 6:26 pm

"I started out as a musician, I ended up as a cartoon.. "
Peter Frampton

In the summer of 1976, despite being surrounded on the charts by some rock and roll power houses, Peter Frampton was arguably the biggest rock and roll star in the world. His amazing, meteoric rise was somewhat unexpected and has been the subject of debate for years. Was he really that good or was he the beneficiary of a dull spot in the time line of rock and roll? That's an argument that is subjective and will never be satisfactorily answered. But whether you love his work or choose to treat him as an anomaly, there is no denying that for a time, Peter Frampton's music was a huge part of the musical landscape and in a small way, continues to play in the background of the 70's.

Born in 1950 in Beckenham, Kent in the U.K., Peter Kenneth Frampton took up the guitar early. He took to the instrument quickly and spent several years taking classical guitar lessons. His first public performance was at a Boy Scout variety show at the age of eight. He was so well received that he could not help but to play an encore. By his early teens, Frampton began to form local bands such as a The Little Ravens, The TruBeats and The Preachers (interestingly, this band was actually managed by Bill Wyman of The Rolling Stones who booked them a performance on the legendary British music/variety show Ready, Steady, GO!)