eight-track recordings?

Andrew Sa
Andrew Sa
07/28/2002 12:58 pm
Can I get a good recording out of an eight or four track portastudio type thing?
Should my band just fork out to record demos or pay once for an eight-track?
Andrew
[FONT=Century Gothic]Hope is when we feel the pain that makes us try again[/FONT]
# 1
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
Dr_simon
Guitar Tricks Instructor
07/28/2002 4:45 pm
I use a Tascam 4 track Portastudio (424 mk III) all the time and it is really good as a scratch pad.

I write songs and as I have been moving around a lot for the past 15 years don’t have a band to call my own. Consequently, I want to be able to multi-track my self playing a whole bunch of different instruments, mix them together and see what it sounds like.

The Portastudio reaches its limits when you want to mix 4 tracks to 2 tracks and bounce them back to tracks 1 and 2 on the Portastudio enabling you to record and mix another 2 tracks. This can be done quite easily using a stereo VCR which has a better dynamic range than a tape recorder and is cheaper than a DAT (indecently I use really good cable & tape). The sound was OK, but sadly only OK and if you then wanted to mix to a master (another bounce) the sound quality was noticeably degenerating.

There is also the option of bouncing multiple tracks together freeing up space for more tracks. In theory you can get like 12 tracks out of a 4 track. This is not only destructive (i.e. the originals get recorded over) but is also a pain in the ass as you are stuck with the pre-mixed stuff which has to be mixed before you have listened to all of the final tracks, useful eh ! Also this approach limits (severally) the use of stereo guitar / drums all that good stuff!