Jumping Ahead?

joe791
joe791
12/20/2020 8:01 pm

I'm an absolute beginner (63 years old) and going through the lesson plan for about a week, working on the "simple" chords. I've looked at some of the songs and wondered if it was a good idea or bad idea to also work on one of those concurrently -- the song of course uses "full" chords - should I wait before jumping ahead to work on songs? Will it hinder working throuigh the "basics"?

Thanks for any insight.

Joe

# 1
William MG
Full Access
William MG
Full Access
12/20/2020 9:09 pm

Hi Joe,

When I started 2 years ago I learned both at the same time. Things have worked out. I was 55 when I started.

Take your time, be patient with yourself and don't give up on regular practice.

Good luck.

This year the diet is definitely gonna stick!

# 2
manXcat
manXcat
12/20/2020 9:23 pm

[u]Short answer[/u]. If it's within your capability without deteriorating into frustration, but bolsters your interest and enthusiasm, play songs from the very beginning. However, don't skip over as in bypass completely or ignore and never do parts of Fundamentals' sequentially [u]structured[/u] syllabus you can't demonstrate competency with because you find either the lesson or repetition needed to accomplish the demonstrated skill or exercise "boring". If you follow those guidelines "jumping ahead to work on songs" won't hinder learning the basics IMV&E.

How I dealt with unappealing songs supplied I didn't enjoy playing within the Fundamentals lesson to develop the skills objectives, was to search out a song I was familiar with and did like which exercised the same or more chords, tempo etc and complete the exercise using it as a template instead. Worked well for me.

[u]Long answer[/u].

Approaching three years now since I started Fundamentals One (F1), but I'll try to answer combining my experience and recall of how I approached it and would still do it now.